Sharon L. Hostler Women in Medicine Leadership Award


The award recognizes the leadership qualities of a physician or basic scientist at the School of Medicine, regardless of gender identity, who manifests excellence in several of the following areas: clinical care, teaching, scholarship, mentoring, research, leadership, community service, commitment to continuous learning, and who have exerted influence in fostering a better institutional environment by advocating for women’s issues.


$1,500, a certificate of recognition, and a gift


late June, 2020 (date TBD)

Who Is Eligible

School of Medicine faculty, regardless of gender identity, clinical and basic science. The nominee must demonstrate at an exemplary level the UVA Health System’s ASPIRE values.

Who May Nominate

School of Medicine faculty, housestaff, or medical student

Nomination Packet Should Include
Packet Submittal

Send an electronic copy of the nomination packet as a single PDF to Ashley Ayers. Questions?
Carol Manning, PhD, ABPP-CN
Chair, Dean’s Committee on Women

Submit A Packet
  • a nominating letter that describes the qualities and achievements that make your candidate an appropriate choice
  • the nominee’s curriculum vitae
  • a statement from the nominee’s department chair or division chief that attests to the nominee’s exemplary demonstration of the UVA Health System’s ASPIRE values

If you wish to nominate a prior nominee, contact the Chair of the Committee on Women, who will forward the nominee’s name and previously received information to the selection committee.

Selection Process

The Selection Committee is composed of the following: all members of the Committee on Women Steering Committee, including the committee chair, and all active faculty in the SOM who are previous Hostler Award recipients.

The committee is advisory to the Dean who will make the final selection.

About This Award
Award Presentation

The award winners will be announced by the Dean. The Dean will notify each awardee’s Department Chair and the Dean’s Office will be responsible for appropriate publicity in University and non-University publications.

List of Past Recipients

Dr Sharron Hostler, MDThis award was named to recognize the accomplishments and contributions of Sharon L. Hostler, MD, McLemore Birdsong Professor of Pediatrics. Dr. Hostler served as the School of Medicine Senior Associate Dean for Faculty Development from 2003-2007. She then served as Interim Vice President and Dean of the School of Medicine in 2007-08. From 2008 to 2015, she has served as Vice Provost for Faculty Development (UVA) and Senior Associate Dean (School of Medicine).