SOM Faculty Affairs & Development Advisory Committee


The School of Medicine Faculty Affairs & Development Advisory Committee (FADAC) enhances the recruitment, development, advancement, and retention of an outstanding medical school faculty by providing regular guidance regarding faculty policies, programs, and services. The FADAC also makes recommendations regarding institutional priorities for faculty within the evolving environment of academic medicine. The FADAC meets quarterly and is chaired by the Director of Faculty Development.


  • Stewart Babbott, MD, Professor of Medicine (standing member*)
  • Taison Bell, MD, Assistant Professor of Medicine, Director of Summer Medical Leadership Program (standing member*)
  • Donna Broshek, PhD, Professor of Psychiatry and Neurobehavioral Sciences (July 2021)
  • Troy Buer, PhD, Director of Faculty Development, Office of Faculty Affairs & Faculty Development, FADAC chair (standing member*)
  • Donna Chen, MD, Associate Professor of Public Health Sciences (July 2021)
  • Alan Dalkin, MD, Professor of Medicine (standing member*)
  • David Driscoll, PhD, MPH, Assistant Dean for Research (standing member*)
  • Linda Duska, MD, Professor of  Obstetrics & Gynecology, Interim Associate Dean for Clinical Research (July 2021)
  • Heather Ferris, MD, PhD, Assistant Professor of Medicine (July 2021)
  • Ziv Haskal, MD, Professor of Radiology and Medical Imaging (standing member*)
  • Bradley Kesser, MD, Professor of Otolaryngology (July 2021)
  • Carol Manning, PhD, Associate Professor of Neurology & Nursing, School of Medicine Committee on Women Chair (standing member*)
  • Natalie Guerrier McKnight, MD, Assistant Dean for Faculty, UVA School of Medicine – Inova Campus (standing member*)
  • Anne Mills, MD, Assistant Professor of Pathology (July 2021)
  • Jason Papin, PhD, Professor of Biomedical Engineering (July 2021)
  • JoAnn Pinkerton, MD, Professor of Obstetrics & Gynecology (standing member*)
  • Susan Pollart, MD, MS, Professor of Family Medicine, Senior Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs and Faculty Development (standing member*)
  • Lisa Rollins, PhD, MEd, Associate Professor of Family Medicine (standing member*)
  • Noah Schenkman, MD, Associate Professor of Urology (July 2021)
  • Neeral Shah, MD, Associate Professor of Gastroenterology & Hepatology; Director, Academy for Excellence in Education  (standing member*)
  • Anneke Schroen, MD, MPH, Associate Professor of Surgery (standing member*)
  • Jung-Bum Shin, PhD, Assistant Professor of Neuroscience (July 2021)
  • Lesley Thomas, JD, Assistant Dean for Medical Education (July 2021)
  • Greg Townsend, MD,  Associate Professor of Medicine, Associate Dean for Diversity and Medical Education (July 2021)
  • Joesph Wiencek, PhD, Assistant Professor of Pathology (July 2021)
  • Michael D. Williams, MD,  Associate Professor of Surgery (July 2021)

*Faculty who lead faculty development efforts at the departmental level serve as standing members of the committee. At-large members serve two-year terms.